Building Editing and Surfing System, up to $850 +OS

solarcat

Reputable
Mar 5, 2014
Greetings, everyone. I've never built a PC from scratch before, though I've done enough upgrading to be comfortable mucking around inside the case.

I'm looking to build a new system that won't be overclocked or used for gaming, but will work well at multitasking, including photo editing and occasional video editing. I've listed two alternative builds, one AMD, one Intel, that are approximately the same price, around $800 without OS. My selection method was simply to look for a price/performance sweet spot for each component that fit in my budget.

I'm looking for advice about how well these components go together and about which build will likely perform better for my intended purposes. Any suggestions for saving a little money here or there without compromising performance and longevity would also be great.

A few notes. I'm happy to be challenged or advised on any of my choices. I chose low-to-mid video cards because I believe this will not be the most important component for my purposes. I added an SSD with the intention of installing the OS and swap file there, and most everything else on the HDD. (Maybe selected programs on the SSD.) The main reason I selected 2 x 4GB RAM for the AMD build is that it might perform a little better, plus that mobo has 4 slots, so I could upgrade to 16GB later without replacing RAM. The Intel mobo has only 2 slots, so I went with 1 x 8GB. There are different video cards in the builds because -- well I don't know. I felt that an AMD system should have an AMD chipset video card, and I have no idea what chipsets play best with Intel.

Approximate Purchase Date: April 1, 2014
Budget Range: $700 - $850 +OS
System Usage from Most to Least Important: Watching video, surfing, photo editing (18 MP RAW), word processing, sound editing, video editing
Parts Not Required: monitor
Preferred Website(s) for Parts: Newegg
Parts Preferences: n/a
Overclocking: no