Sign in with
Your question

Adult switching career to Computer Science and Facing Age Discrimination

Last response: in Work & Education
March 8, 2014 11:54:09 AM

I would like to know if anyone has switched careers to Computer Science. If you switched, do you have any advice? Did you work while taking classes? Did you face age discrimination?

Here is my background: I am 30 years old, and I have an Associates Degree in a science field, which I graduated from last year. I work at a hospital, but I have always wanted to do Computer Science. I have always been too intimidated to go to school for it because when I was in high school in the 1990s, it was not a "girl" job. My guidance counselor told me I should pick something more realistic like nursing. Thus, thats why I now work in a hospital and hate every day of my working life. I build my own computers at home, enjoy gaming, and I am the one people call when they have computer issues.

So I recently decided to take the plunge, and go to my local state university for computer science. I already have all of the liberal arts done, and about half of the math. So I email the CS coordinator to ask what its like and if there are many adult students, and he replies that its not really for adults, especially ones with "family obligations", and the "program is geared more toward the younger student right out of high school who has a completely open schedule". He suggested I take Computer Information Systems and gave me the name of a different college that is known for putting out low quality degrees for working adults. You know the ones: they advertise about online courses in things like business administration and health IT, and their degrees only take a year to complete, and you might get a free TV for applying... basically a joke college. He basically said "Computer science? For you? Ha! I won't even waste my time with you, go somewhere else!".