Best RAM For My Build

SmileyChief

Reputable
Mar 8, 2014
I'm new to pc building so I need some pointers as to what RAM is best for my needs. I have not yet ordered any parts but the list of components goes like this;

CPU - Intel i7 4930K
GPU - 4x Nvidia GeForce GTX 780 Ti Classified K|NGP|N Edition
PSU - Corsair AX1200i Digital ATX
SSD - 6x Samsung 840 EVO
Motherboard - either Asrock X79 Extreme11 or Asus Rampage IV Black Edition

I am not even sure if these components would work together or if the PSU could handle that. Any help would be great. Should I get 16, 32 or even 64gb (is 64 even possible?). Is DDR3 a better choice or should I go with GDDR5?

Price is not a limiting factor; it can be as expensive as it needs to be. I don't want to compromise on components.

This rig is intended for 4k @ 60-100fps for games like Battlefield 4.

Illumynization

Honorable
Nov 12, 2013
Holy dhwoenbfipa crap!! This build is over killing the over killers of the overkillers. DDR3 is RAM and GDDR5 is graphics ram. You need DDR3 for the motherboard while your 780ti's will come with 3GB GDDR5 each.

Edit: my expectation is that people will give you one dream build after another on this post. I will try and work on a general set up for you and others to tweak.

Tradesman1

Legenda in Aeternum
With a rig like that I'd go at least 16GB in a 4x4GB setup, is this pretty strictly gaming? If so then 16GB 4x4GB (to allow for quad channel ops, Ripjaws Z 2133/9 F3-17000CL9Q-16GBZH or the Snipers in same F3-17000CL9Q-16GBSR....could go 32GB but for gaming 16GB will keep you happy for a long time...On the mobo, I'd go with the Black Edition

http://rog.asus.com/304462014/overclocking/gunslinger-breaks-multiple-world-records-with-6-4ghz-4960x-on-rampage-iv-black-edition/

SmileyChief

Reputable
Mar 8, 2014

Thanks, I wasn't quite sure as to the specifics as this will be my first venture into high-end pc gaming.

TheUnknownPC

Reputable
Mar 1, 2014