Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Marching drum situation

Last response: in Opinions and Experiences
March 14, 2014 8:01:27 AM

I have been drumming for 8 years,but I'm a baritone player in band and I am a sophmore in high school. I failed the drum try out last year thinking its because I made a mistake or something. But I told my band director that I'm gonna try out this year and he said I could. I did and the drum staff was amazed so was the seniors. So there are 6 more try out days to attend, but the director pulled me in during school and said that I'm amazing but the chances if me getting in are less than 50%. He told me the real reason why I didn't make it last year and it was because the staff forced me to play the baritone. Now most the staff doesn't want me to be a drummer just because that I'm a good baritone player and if I try out so I will every other low brass.
I've been practicing marching drum for 4 years everyday! And now they tell me that I can't join the drumline just because they want me in baritone? By the way there are 150 marching band members and they could care less if I quit the marching band. I don't know what to do.ive been wanted to join the drumline ever since I was a little kid. My dreams....freakin ruined.
March 14, 2014 8:04:59 AM

Why are you posting this on a tech forum? Shouldn't this be on like FML or something?
m
l
March 14, 2014 8:56:13 AM

do you really want to join a group of people who cares nothing for you and treats you in such a poor manner?

it sounds like the school board is a bit snotty and that the members of the marching band may be as well.

you could probably force your way in if you made a big deal about it or got your parents involved but as i said before... do you really want to be part of something that doesnt seem to be accepting of you? forcing your way in would only make the staff go out of their way to cause trouble for you and some of the band might treat you with less respect than they do now.