Need a little information on first time start-up

Aicfan1993

Distinguished
Dec 24, 2011
So earlier today I finished figuring out my build and bought it. So I have a few days before I can get my hands on the hardware but I was wondering, what happens the first time on start up? I have never built a computer before (I feel extremely confident putting it all together as I have in the past taken apart and put back together computers that already where running, just for fun) and have no idea what to expect when I turn it on. I assume a BIOS window will appear or something? Will the computer walk me through it on screen, so I don't screw it all up and also, what tests can I do to make sure everything is running smoothly and defect free? Any information is greatly appreciated.

By the way, here's the build: http://pcpartpicker.com/p/3cdjA

Also if you will answer me this, do you think this comp is strong enough to run a lot of games (wow, titanfall, skyrim) on ultra, or close to ultra settings? Thanks!

Solution
If you're talking about running those games on 1080p, then I would expect high, barely reaching ultra.

1. Watch a lot of tutorials on YouTube, only the reputable ones. For example this one, https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=roFb3TNePIg&list=PL8mG-RkN2uTwlcLU_rv29Gt4578XfgJm_
2. Make sure you discharge yourself before you start touching anything, or wear an anti-static strap, either ankle or wrist
3. Read manuals for the motherboard, especially the front panel connectors and fan connectors
4. From my experience that 212 Evo isn't the easiest thing to install, you need to push it down with force and screw the screws little by little in a crisscross method
6. I also advise you to plug in only the necessary components when booting up, no...
If you're talking about running those games on 1080p, then I would expect high, barely reaching ultra.