What is the best optical mouse?

Status
Not open for further replies.

spacemanjupiter

Distinguished
Jan 8, 2009
I know this isn't going to be easy since good optical mice are hard to come by anymore. I have a couple of games (MOH:AA, Warface) that absolutely refuse to work properly with a laser mouse. I've been building and repairing computers for ten years, and PC gaming for 15 years. I've been through hell for years trying to get MOH to work with laser, and a few months for Warface. I get very erratic mouse movements in both games. I've tried with and without vender drivers, always disable acceleration in control panel and in Windows completely, blah blah blah.

The thing is, as soon as I hook up an optical mouse, abra kadabra... Everything works perfectly fine. Nice, smooth and consistent mouse movement. I have an old MS Comfort Mouse 3000 optical to test with, and a Logitech M305 optical. Both work perfectly fine, but both have drawbacks for gaming. The MS mouse is great overall except that it's too light. Need something a bit heavier. Logitech mouse is too small for serious gaming. I've had various Razer mice in the past, and now a Logitech G700. None of which have worked with MOH:AA, ever. I see the same issue right now with Warface. Plug in either of my old opticals, all good.

Looking for the best optical mouse I can find out there with at least 500hz polling.

On a side note, why do professional gamers prefer 500hz over 1000hz poll rate? Just curious.

the major issue with laser mice is that you cannot lift them off the mousepad. if you do it will continue to track and cause erratic movement. they can also be a bit tempermental when it comes to surfaces like glass, wood, rough textures, etcetera.

i've used laser mice for years in the past without issue. honestly once you get used to how they work its not bad at all and i suppose they might even have some perks but optical mice in general are easier to use.