Sign in with
Your question
Solved

Is it worth buying a new desktop right now?

Last response: in Opinions and Experiences
April 17, 2014 3:37:52 AM

Currently I only own a laptop, bought it around three and a half years ago. Works fairly well and I can do all the basic stuff such as browsing and word-procesing. Games work to a certain extent, and all on low quality.

I don't play a lot of games, although I am a programmer and some IDEs such as Visual Studio are extremely slow on my laptop. Which is why I think I need an upgrade.

I'm thinking of building a desktop PC (would be my first time), and I'm currently researching and learning about different PC parts.

Recently, there have been announcements of DDR4 memory and Broadwell CPUs. Taking DDR as an example, as I understand it a motherboard supporting DDR3 memory can't support DDR4.

So my question is, is it worth getting a new desktop right now or do I wait? DDR4 and Broadwell are the only "updates" I know of, don't know if anything else is in development or announced which is worth waiting for...

More about : worth buying desktop

April 17, 2014 3:44:17 AM

bbezzina73 said:
Currently I only own a laptop, bought it around three and a half years ago. Works fairly well and I can do all the basic stuff such as browsing and word-procesing. Games work to a certain extent, and all on low quality.

I don't play a lot of games, although I am a programmer and some IDEs such as Visual Studio are extremely slow on my laptop. Which is why I think I need an upgrade.

I'm thinking of building a desktop PC (would be my first time), and I'm currently researching and learning about different PC parts.

Recently, there have been announcements of DDR4 memory and Broadwell CPUs. Taking DDR as an example, as I understand it a motherboard supporting DDR3 memory can't support DDR4.