What do you think of this rig?

Oldwhpsian

Honorable
Feb 12, 2013
Hey guys

So I've been given the option to get this rig, for quite a lot cheaper than retail value (-50%). It's through a connection I have in the hardware industry. No concerns over validity or ripoffs- I'm 100% certain. Here it goes:

Intel Core i7 4820k @3.7GHz
16GB Corsair Vengeance @1600MHz
Gigabyte X79-UD4 Motherboard
Gigabyte nVidia GeForce GTX 780Ti OC 3GB

And those are the main specs, running MS Windows 7 Pro 64-bit

My main concern is that it's the older generation i7 (not Haswell) and as a result the Motherboard is older as well.

I'm no pro at this kind of thing, but I know this is a good PC. My question is will it last, and if it drops in performance over the years will a simple GPU swap solve the problem?

Oh and yes, this rig is supposed to tear up games on medium-high res on a 32" LCD

Thanks all :)

Edit: Forgot to add, also have a 3TB HDD and a 512GB SSD

Edit 2: Thanks for all the answers so far!! I have reached a fork road, and allas I am now looking to spot which PC will perform the best:

PC1: The above mentioned rig.

or

PC2: i7 4770K
Gigabyte GA-Z87X-UD5H Motherboard
Same RAM
Same GPU

Basically, will there be a performance difference between the haswell based system and the Ivy based system?

Both will be run on watercooling and a 750W PSU.

quasipredator

Distinguished
Mar 9, 2008
Yes you will not have any problems for the next few years. Most games do not utilize all 4 cores anyways so your pretty future proof on the Cpu. And you can always drop in a new GFX card in say 2 years or so. You would have a very solid PC. And 16gb of ram is more than plenty for a good long time!

numanator

Honorable