2 Person Server Build with growth potential; First Time Build

jphensley

Reputable
Apr 17, 2014
Hey guys, I'm new to the forums, first post. First off, I'm a complete rookie, this is my first attempt at a build and I need help. Any feedback and advice are MUCH appreciated!

So heres what I'm trying to do, I need to build a Windows work server for myself and one other person to serve as a database and to be able to remote in to run a few applications. In the next 5+ years we're looking to possibly have 20-30 more people. Here is what I have so far and my thoughts behind each piece:

CPU:
Intel Intel Xeon E3-1220V3 Haswell 3.1GHz 8MB L3 Cache LGA 1150 80W Quad-Core Server Processor

I want something that will be up to date for a while, I figured Haswell would be the way to go. I'm willing to spend a little more here if something a little beefier would last longer and serve better.

Motherboard:
ASRock H87WS-DL ATX Server Motherboard LGA 1150 Intel H87 DDR3 1600/1333

Same thing here, this looks like it sets a solid framework for some years to come with 2 LAN chipsets, 6 USB ports, 4 DDR3 slots, and 6 SATA 6gb/s connectors. As for the PCI slots, I'm not sure what sort of expansions I might need now or in the future. (any heads up here would be much appreciated.) Also, I would be willing to spend a little more here if I need to. I'm not sure what are good brands and what aren't.

Memory:
G.SKILL Ripjaws X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Desktop Memory Model F3-12800CL9D-8GBXL

With only 2 people, and being on a budget, I figured with would suffice for now. I don't think we would need ECC or buffered memory, at least initially. This seemed like a good place to save some money. (but I could be wrong...)

PSU:
Rosewill TACHYON-550 550W Continuous @ 50°C, Intel Haswell Ready, 80 PLUS PLATINUM, ATX12V v2.31 & EPS12V v2.92, SLI/CrossFire Ready, Modular Active PFC Power Supply