Best gpu type cooler for a open test bench type setup.

SSA90

Honorable
Feb 17, 2014
I have saved up enough money for a high end build, but wondering what type of cooler should I go for if I choose to operate the pc in an open test bed type situation. ACX, Direct CU II or Windforce? Or should I be looking at reference blower type fans, as it's not case airflow dependent.

Just in case people ask me to get a case first, I am a student and will be leaving my current accommodation in a matter of months. Moving without a big bulky pc case, seems like a less challenging option. Looking at Nvidia 780s and 780tis with aftermarket coolers at the moment, as I would like my investment to run cooler and quieter.

Any feedback will be appreciated.

Any cooler style will work the same in an open setup. It is not like a CPU cooler where it needs airflow. GPUs work fine with static air. For a quiet cooler I would look at a cooler with 2 large fans vs. 3 smaller ones. MSI has some good ones and the ACX coolers are very nice.

SSA90

Honorable
Feb 17, 2014

Oh okay, thanks for the advice. Duly noted :)

No problem. I usually buy blower style cards only as they are VASTLY superior in multi-GPU setups and even if I am buying one card, chances are in a few years I would end up buying another for SLI/CF as the cards get much cheaper. I just like to be ready just in case I end up with a second card. Not that other coolers are particularly bad for SLI/CF, but blower cards are better.

SquirrelPhantom

Reputable
Mar 19, 2014

I second that. I have two MSI cards and they cool very well and I have heard great things about EVGA as well. SSA90, you would do well with these.

SSA90

Honorable
Feb 17, 2014