Need help picking a good motherboard for my older build!

Which is better for a budget gaming build?

• Intel Core quad

Votes: 2 100.0%
  • Intel Core 2 duo extreme ( the dual core variant )

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters

ncvikingx97

Reputable
Apr 28, 2014
Hey guys, I need some help. As you can probably tell, I am completely new to the world of desktop PC's. I own an Asus laptop with a Sandy Bridge i5 and an xbox, but I want to build a gaming rig( low budget). I was recently given an older Gateway desktop, I think it is a GT5448E. Now the reason that I need some advice is because in order to really get started, I have to strip this thing down . Out of the box, it comes with an Nvidia GeForce 7500LE, a 320 Gig hard drive, and an intel core 2 duo E6300( the lowest of the desktop core line, 1.86 ghz). So , the first logical step is to replace the motherboard. I am looking at an Intel D975XBX2KR, which is compatible with my current GPU because they are both PCI express. I can also use some of the ram that I have available in the current system. Is there any way to check if my current motherboard( Intel DP965LV) could take a core quad? Is there any way I can check in the BIOS? My current list of to-buys is looking like:

Intel core quad OR intel core 2 extreme (which is better, the extreme will most likely be dual core?)

another 2-4 gigs of DDR2 ram

Intel D975XBX2KR motherboard

Eventually a 30-40 dollar ATX case

What do you guys think? I should be able to use the above hardware with the new GPU correct? I am kind of nervous as I don't have a lot of cash, and I can get all of the above mentioned things for under $200. The good news is, I can use many of the different components I already have, to slowly build a better rig. I will eventually add a better graphics card. I am also going to add a little poll comparing both processors .Any feedback is REALLY appreciated, thanks guys!

s4in7

Honorable
Feb 14, 2014