How can I upgrade this older pc setup?

Modern Sage

Reputable
Apr 30, 2014
Does my old computer need a facelift...or a graveyard?
I work on computers all day, but am a complete newb when it comes to building one. I have an old computer and need to figure out if its worth upgrading.

Here's the specs that I know off hand:
Windows 7 Ultimate 64bit
Nvidia GeForce 8600Gs
Core 2 Quad Q6660 @2.4ghz
4GB ddr2 RAM
Unsure abut the mobo-other than it had an integrated GFX card, and the Nvidia card was added later instead (I dont know much, but I know integrated cards suck as a rule of thumb).
Are there any better GFX cards or CPU that will work with my setup specifically? I know its a fairly outdated setup, and any suggestions about how to squeeze a bit more power out of this old thing would be great!

RFM1997

Honorable
Mar 11, 2013
Hello Modern Sage!

That system is not that bad, you've got enough ram, windows 7 and a Quad core CPU, still good for today's applications!

Just get a new graphics card if you want to game, otherwise, that card is enough for youtube and video playback.

If you really want to make the system feel like brand new, get a SSD (Solid State Drive), those things are incredibly fast, and very accessible to casual users. I would suggest a Crucial M500 or a samsung evo, they both cost less than 100$ and are worth the money invested! No mechanical hard drive can achieve the speeds of a SSD.

Get a 120GB version, just to install windows and main programs, then use the hard drive as a junk storage, as well as a place to install not so important applications :)

Modern Sage

Reputable
Apr 30, 2014
Thanks RFM! I know my setup has a Gfx card from 2008 or so, what type of Graphics card would you recommend that would be compatible with my rig?