Help with buying and building a gaming pc

tony delamora

Reputable
May 7, 2014
I really wanted to get my brother a gaming PC that can handle most modern games with ease. My budget is $1000 and I will not be purchasing this til the end of summer so this thread is just something to get an idea of the price and parts. I also wouldn't mind a guide on how to build a PC or maybe I might just pay a local PC store $50 to build it. I personally have a gaming laptop so I'm okay for now and through college. My brother has a ps4 but wants to play the games we PC elites enjoy such as amnesia and indies that aren't really ported over to consoles. So please do not reply with a rude comment as I am a noob and just looking for advice since I don't want to waste my hard earned money.

Solution
Hi Tony! 1000$ is plenty for a very good pc build. I would recommend you build it yourself as it is pretty easy with a good tutorial. There are plenty on youtube, long and detailed ones and very simple and short ones.

If you want an idea of the prices, here is what I find to be acceptable. It's all based on what I learned for the past two years when shopping for computer parts:
For a CPU like an intel i5: It's around 250$. It's plenty for gaming in my opinion.
For a motherboard like a gigabyte, that I recommend, but Asus are very good too : I'd say around 150$ for a good chipset like the Z87.
Power supply : Around 100$ for good quality build. Good brands are Seasonic, Antec, Corsair (a bit pricy). You would need between 650W and...

ClownWalker

Honorable
Jun 21, 2012
Hi Tony! 1000$ is plenty for a very good pc build. I would recommend you build it yourself as it is pretty easy with a good tutorial. There are plenty on youtube, long and detailed ones and very simple and short ones.

If you want an idea of the prices, here is what I find to be acceptable. It's all based on what I learned for the past two years when shopping for computer parts: