Feedback on New System Build.

JA50N

Honorable
May 8, 2014
Upgrading from a
AMD A10-5800K APU 3.8ghz on a Asus F2 A85M-Pro with 8 Gigs ram.

retaining the Ram, SSD and SATA drives, the NZXT Phantom 410 case, Corsair TX850 power supply, and Gigabyte Geforce GTX 770 4GB Ram video Card.

Looking at upgrading to:
Intel I7 Core 4820k CPU
Asus Sabertooth LGA 2011 motherboard. (full size mobo)
NZXT Kraken x60 AIO water cooler. (reviews I found mark it as one of the best available)

I want top end quad core so I OC in the future to keep it current, from what I have read IVY Bridge will give me that and it comes unlocked. I went for LGA 2011 setup to utilize the 64GB of ram, looking to run my games right off the ram, when I procure more that is.

I have seen that the Kraken requires modifications to fit the mounting points in the phantom case but as of yet I haven't found any info regarding where to modify specifically or if there are adapters available. (note I am a mechanic so I am more than capable of drilling new mount holes and enlarging the fan holes if need be.)

Feed back on the system as a whole as well as feedback on any issues with the components listed, I am looking for reliability here so if any problems are known with the above parts I would love to know now.

Thanks

Rugnir_Viking

Honorable
Mar 27, 2013

Whoa! I'd suggest you upgrade the GPU as well if you intend this for gaming. Also while a ramdisk is fast, you might as well get a much cheaper and better suited PCI-e ssd. There isn't much use getting more than 8gb ram for modern games.

The kraken *should* fit onto any 120mm fan slots, or if it has a dual radiator, then two side by side ones such as those at the top of the case. However I have little experience with the kraken.

Possibly consider getting that mobo and a top-end i5 and a better gpu such as a 7970 or a 780.

JA50N

Honorable
May 8, 2014