Need a guide

wiggy1413

Reputable
May 12, 2014
Hi everybody, i'm not here posting the same old "somebody make a guide for me" i'm just new to building a pc, and i just want to know if people have a preferred guide on this site, or even another, as i'd like to have a good guide to work off of for my first crack at this, money isn't the issue, just the guide itself, i've found 2 or 3 so far and they're not really explanatory.

thanks in advance.

a guide as to what exactly?

how to pick out parts?
to be good at this requires familiarity with both the parts and what they are capable of as well as brand knowledge. this isnt something you can pick up overnight but with a bit of guidance on what to look for even somoene non computer savvy can make a good system. most of us who recommend builds all the time know what performance is like between products and what is best for a certain price. we also know which brands are good and which are bad. i could definitely outline a few if you felt the need to do your own research but its easiest to just post a budget and ask for some build ideas on here.

how to assemble them?
there are various guides on how to do this on youtube which are well done and worth watching. again, i could likely list a few tips or tricks not covered by some of those videos but they are pretty informative.

how to overclock?
there are countless threads about this. just search for the cpu you want to overclock and look at some of the values they list. information about this can vary quite a bit depending on your actual hardware.

how to cable route?
look at some photos of good cable routing then look at your case and see what will work with the cable lengths you have. most of it is trial and error. again, i could probably offer some tips but this varies quite a bit depending on what kind of case you buy.

--

could you please be a bit more specific about what kind of guide you are referring to?