Setting up multiple RAIDs

1RuneKing

Reputable
May 1, 2014
Hey guys, I am looking to buy an Asus Rampage 4 Extreme, and I was wanting to do a bootable RAID 0 (striped RAID) with 2 1TB SSDs and a main storage RAID 5 with 4 6TB HDDs or 4 4TB Hybrid/HDDs.

How good is the RAID controller that is built into the motherboard? Is it a software or hardware RAID? Also should I get a high end RAID controller instead of using the built in one? If I do that route I'll need to pull my wireless card from the design.

Will the motherboard be able to support the two different RAIDs? And how would I go about setting it up? I have no experience with RAIDs other than 1, 5 and 10 give redundancy, and 0 and 5 give a speed boost.
Before you ask: I know that's a ton of storage, but it's because I can, and I was wanting the RAIDs to pull as much performance from my drives as possible, I've seen where SSD performance almost doubles from a RAID

PS: Does anyone have any experience with RAIDing Hybrid Drives? How well do they do?

Thanks for help :)

Paperdoc

Polypheme
Ambassador
RAID built into a mobo is always "Software RAID". The mobo's BIOS has the RAID management code, and it is executed in the main CPU and uses some RAM space. So it consumes mobo resources and does slow down your system a little to do it. On the other hand, some RAID systems may speed up certain storage device access operations. Do not expect a RAID5 system based on Software RAID to give you any speed-up; RAID5 uses more computing resources than RAID0 or 1.