Will the CoolMax CU-700B (700w) power supply fry my 280X?

Chazzen

Reputable
May 27, 2014
Now, first of all, not sure if I'm posting this in the correct area, as this is my first time actually making a post on here.

Now on to the question...which is basically the title. I just upgraded my GPU to a 280X and I wanted to go about installing it, but saw that the lowest it would take is 850w. So I did some research and it seems that this Power Supply has a bit of a record for "blowing up" so to speak.

Now, I just wanted to know if it'd be safe for me to actually plug the card in, or if this really is an issue with all the CoolMax PSUs?

If need be, I'll just wait to use the 280X until I have the money to upgrade the Power Supply.

Thanks.

clutchc

Titan
Ambassador
The 280X does not need a 850W PSU. Where did you see that?! However, it needs a good quality PSU with a strong +12V rail(s). Your Coolmax has the specs to run it and more with its three +12V rails rated at 18A, 16A, and 16A @ 570W. The only problem is the poor quality of that PSU. It is not one of the best. But you will be OK to install the card and go.

Dark Lord of Tech

Retired Moderator
Tier 5 - Other than the units listed above for any of these brands, NOT RECOMMENDED. Replace ASAP if you have one.

A-TOP Technology
Apevia
APEX (SUPERCASE/ALLIED)
Aspire(Turbo Case)
ATADC
Athena Power
ATRIX
Broadway Com Corp
Coolmax :bounce:
Deer
Diablotek
Dynapower USA
Dynex
EagleTech
FOXCONN
FSP Everest
HEC Orion
Hiper Type-R
Huntkey
I-Star Computer Co. Ltd
In Win
JPAC COMPUTER
Just PC
Kingwin Inc.
Linkworld Electronics
Logisys Computer
MGE
MSI
NMEDIAPC
Norwood Micro/ CompUSA
NorthQ
NZXT
Okia
Powmax
Q-Tec
Raidmax
Rocketfish
Rosewill
SFC
Shuttle
Skyhawk
Spire Coolers
Star Micro
STARTECH
Thermaltake Purepower NP
Thermaltake Purepower RU
Thermaltake TR2 (and TR2-RX)
TOPOWER TOP
Ultra X-Connect
Ultra X2 >greater than 700 watt
Ultra LSP
Wintech
XION
YoungYear
Zebronics

Chazzen

Reputable
May 27, 2014