system upgrade based around i5 4590?

nine0nine

Reputable
May 30, 2014
I used to be a regular system builder about 6 years ago and was up on all the ins and outs of hardware but since I sort of lost interest in keeping up, I have totally lost the plot!

I wanna upgrade my current system (core2duo 3ghz), Just keeping my HDD and GFX which are less than a year old as they replaced failing parts. At the moment I think my ram is threatening to die and I suspect my motherboard's PCI-e 1.1 is a bottleneck for my graphics, as I have some framerate issues since upgrading to a 1440p monitor.

So I am looking at a CPU, Mobo, PSU and Ram purchase, primarily for photoshop but later down the line I want to add a new gfx card and play a few games, although I am not fussy about getting the utmost performance in that area.

Looking around (and being ignorant to AMD CPU's) I get the impression that the i5 4590 is good value and seems like a solid start to a mid/high end system build.

Should I go for this and if so, which MB and ram should I go for? My gfx is a Radeon HD 6450 which should do the job before I want to play games.

My budget is around £400, but can stretch a little if needed.

SnakeGTX

Distinguished
I agree that Intel is the way to go with CPUs. The i5-4590 is new and seems to be a great CPU since its pretty much just a oc 4570.

So here is a good build, with all the stuff you asked for.

This build does have upgrade options in the future, but not much because of the lower PSU wattage. You could switch PSU for a The Corsair CX600 or EVGA 600B (£35) if you were wanting to upgrade in the future.

Before you buy this, you probably need to make sure your case is for a ATX motherboard.

And the GPU you have is very low end, so you might want a better GPU. Even at about £415 you could also add a GPU in there.

Here

nine0nine

Reputable
May 30, 2014