Looking for a decent sound card under $100

DHFF

Honorable
Sep 18, 2012
Hello everyone,

I am in the process of building a workstation for my wife, she listens to a lot of music and does a lot of audio processing of recorded meetings at work (stripping out background noise ect) and although most motherboards come with sound integrated, I wanted to give her a little step up. however I have no experience with sound cards, its never been a factor for me as I am happy with the built in sound.

Any suggestions on what I could pick up for under $100 that would give her a nice upgrade to her audio experience?

Thanks,

DHFF

At under $100, there's three main options:

1: ASUS Xonar DG(X): ~$30. A step up from onboard, at a very good price for what it offers.
2: ASUS Xonar DX: ~$70. A bigger step up from the DG(X). Biggest disadvantage here is the lack of a dedicated headphone amp, which may be an issue for headphone users.
3: Creative Soundblaster Z: ~$99. The newest (And best) of the three products.

Comes down to cost really.

DHFF

Honorable
Sep 18, 2012
For Headphones she has a pair of Turtle Beach X-12 which are USB powered and have dedicated volume controls. I dont know if that makes a difference in reference to the card not having a dedicated headphone amp.
With the soundblaster, am I getting a better quality of sound or just more features? If it is just features I am getting for the extra $20 then I might just get the cheaper one as in the end the only thing she is really going to care about is how clear is sounds.

DHFF

Honorable
Sep 18, 2012
A Sound card wont offer me any real improvement in sound quality? So the only reason to have one is for extra features or capabilities?

Illumynization

Honorable
Nov 12, 2013
To those that work with audio on a daily basis, a sound card is essential. To the average user there is no difference between on-board and PCIe sound card.