PC build for developing games (Unity)

miva2

Reputable
Jun 10, 2014
I'm looking to build a pc primarily for developing games in Unity.

I was looking for information on what to look for in hardware parts and saw some great info on this site. So I figured it's the perfect place to ask for professional advice :)

I don't have an extensive knowledge on hardware, so I'm interested in some important points to look at in parts. And also specific parts that suit my needs (and other components it requires or synergises well with). I have no experience with building a pc so anything that can point me in the right direction for that is also appreciated.
I'm currently reading through this guide and checked the BestConfigs of this month among some other pages. PCPartPicker looks useful, I'll check that out soon.

I'm a programmer and most of my work will be done in Unity (or well... the IDE associated with it). It needs to be able to run Unity and similar software fluently and obviously needs to run games as well. I'm not interested in playing everything in the highest possible settings, it just needs to run everything smoothly.

I'm looking for a build around €800 ($1083.72). It can be more if I will benefit from it. It would be awesome if I could make a beast below that pricepoint.
I had my eyes on an Intel i7 4790 cpu. I could save a lot with an i5 but I think it's worth getting the extra edge and making my pc more future-proof.
I don't know much about the current video cards. I currently have a Sapphire ATI Radeon HD 4770. Very happy with it but it's served it's time. A Modern version of that one (or equivalent Nvidia card) would be nice. Note that it had a great performance/price ratio in it's time. Radeon R9 270X (~€185) maybe?
An SSD would be useful. 120GB is enough. Is anything less than that recommended?