IT Helpdesk Typical Duties

MrJimmyX

Reputable
Jun 17, 2014
Hi everyone,

I am new to the IT field as I started my first job in it.

I am hired as a helpdesk technician and wonder what the typical of duties are of IT helpdesk professionals from everyone's experience currently or in the past as working as one.

For example today I had a user had a question about setting up outlook to make a signature for their emails. I didn't take me a long time but I managed to get it done but it disrupted my train of thought when completing my other tasks. If a task just has the user to google it should I even help them? I can't tell if the user is helpless or just being completely lazy. Does anyone have any tips as to how to differentiate between the two?

Thanks in advance.

how to setup an outlook signature is a very valid question in the professional atmosphere. not everyone is an expert and the majority only know what other people show them and do not try to figure things out for themselves since it confuses them.

the correct response in most cases is not to tell the user to google it. if i ever had an IT guy tell me that then we would have words. even if it seems rather basic to you, the majority of users are not all that knowledgeable on computers even when working on them every single day.

also i wouldnt jump to conclusions and state that they are lazy or helpless, that will not bode well for you. some users just are not that proficient with computers despite being around them and despite being told certain things multiple times just do not seem to get it and likely never will.

now there ARE of course some users which ARE lazy or inept.... but i dont find that particular one bad.