Slightly different FX8320 vs i5 4670k question

Which Option would be best for my needs?

• Endgame AMD

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Endgame Intel

Votes: 3 75.0%
  • Endgame AMD+

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Other (explain)

Votes: 1 25.0%

• Total voters

Ozmer

Reputable
Jun 18, 2014
I am not looking for a debate on AMD/Intel. I have used both over the years. I am going to also try to avoid words like "futureproof" as much as possible.

TL;DR:
I've been rocking the same PC since 2008, and it feels like it is getting to the end of it's lifespan. Obviously, 6 years is almost an eon in computer terms. I have had a fairly tight budget that has restricted me from upgrades, and I am not one to desire a bazillion FPS on ultra settings with every option at it's best. In the next couple of months I should have the ability to spend $800-$1000 for a new rig, and would like something that has potential to last. My question is basically - which of the three options below would more likely serve me for a greater length of time on a variety of titles (mix of mmo/fps/fantasy rpg/etc.)

Longer Background:
I have been gaming since Wolfenstein and beyond. My first rig was a Headstart Explorer with a proprietary OS. We moved up to a 486 dx/2 66, up to a 266mhz Pentium Sony Vaio, Dell, HP. and so-forth. Though I would upgrade these, I was not confident in my building abilities, and for college in 2000 I got a custom-built CyberPower PC. The PC with minor upgrades lasted until 2008 when I built my current desktop (disconnected and in storage.) It was:
AMD Athlon 64x X2 5400+ Brisbane
Asus M3A78
Asus GeForce 9800 GT 512mb
4gb OCZ 1066 (PC2 8500)
WD Blue 500gb