$1,000 AU gaming build, question about power supply and whether to overclock?

Puplefish

Reputable
Jun 19, 2014
Just want some feedback on the parts I'm looking at for this. This is my first build and I'm still pretty clueless. I want something for around $1,000 which I can build myself and will handle games for a few years to come.

Approximate Purchase Date: In the next month

Budget Range: $1,000 (Australian dollars, slightly less value than US $)

System Usage from Most to Least Important: Gaming, graphic design, protools work

Are you buying a monitor: No

Parts to Upgrade: Everything

Do you need to buy OS: No

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: https://au.pcpartpicker.com/

Parts Preferences:

CPU: Intel Core i5-4590 3.3GHz Quad-Core Processor ($225.00 @ CPL Online)
Motherboard: ASRock Z87 Extreme6 ATX LGA1150 Motherboard ($229.00 @ PLE Computers)
Memory: G.Skill Ripjaws X Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-1600 Memory ($99.00 @ Mwave Australia)
Video Card: Asus Radeon R9 270X 2GB DirectCU II Video Card ($245.00 @ CPL Online)
Case: Fractal Design Arc Midi R2 (Black) ATX Mid Tower Case ($128.00 @ CPL Online)
Power Supply: SeaSonic G 550W 80+ Gold Certified Semi-Modular ATX Power Supply ($114.21 @ Mwave Australia)
Total: $1040.21

Overclocking: No

SLI or Crossfire: No

Your Monitor Resolution: 1920x1080

Additional Comments: Would like a window to show off my first build

And Most Importantly, Why Are You Upgrading: My old PC is dead (I think I fried the CPU) and outdated by about 4 years.

Thanks to anyone replying, hope I've done this right. First time posting.

I have no idea if the parts I've chosen are good together. I've done some research and been reading reviews and stuff to pick those parts but still am kinda lost since this is my first build.
I wanna know if there's something else I should be getting instead or if these are compatible with each other etc.

Thanks again!

Puplefish

Reputable
Jun 19, 2014