Possible Upgrades For Gaming

dillnut

Reputable
Jun 20, 2014
I just want to know if my computer is good for gaming. I play RuneScape and currently get about 20 FPS during most gameplay. Please post supportive or suggestive comments only. Thank you! :)

P.S. - i am also willing to upgrade any parts of the computer if that is at all possible. I'm not very tech savvy so i'm sure as to what my limits are.. appreciate it! :)

Win XP

Intel® Pentium® D CPU 3.40GHz
3.42 GHz, 2.00 GB of RAM

Graphics Card is - NVIDIA GeForce 7900 GT/GTO

Obnoxious

Distinguished
Jul 24, 2012
Please may I ask, what motherboard do you have? One way you can find out is by downloading CPU-Z, and selecting the "Mainboard" tab. Feel free to post a screen shot of CPU-Z's mainboard tab instead of typing it out.

From there on I will suggest possible upgrades; do you have a budget in mind by any chance? How much are you willing to spend?

All the best. :)

dillnut

Reputable
Jun 20, 2014

Motherboard
CPU
Graphics

Is that all you need? Thanks for your help in advance :)

dillnut

Reputable
Jun 20, 2014
but what are my possible upgrades? i wont be able to fully replace the computer for about a year and i would like to get a better gaming experience until then. is overclocking an option?

logainofhades

Titan
Not knowing your motherboard model, it is hard to tell. If all you are playing is runescape, and your board is compatible, a Core 2 E8400 off of ebay for $25, and a better graphics card would help. I would try to go with a GTX 750ti, and reuse it in your new system. With that card, you wouldn't have to worry about your power supply. If that is too much, just get the best you can afford.

Is your hard drive and optical drive at least sata? There are possible solutions to reuse some of what you have for a rebuild.

His mobo is GA-8I945P-G, his pentium D 3.4 is literally the best it will take

dillnut

Reputable
Jun 20, 2014