• Overheating

Votes: 0 0.0%
  • Software

Votes: 0 0.0%

• Total voters

Michael Bougie

Reputable
Jun 27, 2014
So I just purchased brand new the following.

CPU: AMD FX-8320 Eight Core 3.5ghz Black Edition W/stock cooler.

GPU: Radeon R9 270x Windforce edition.

M/B: Asus M5A97 R2.0 AMD 970 ATX.

Ram: Crucial 8gb (2x 4gb) DDR3 1600 MT/S (PC3-12800)

PSU: ---IS USED--- About 2 years old. I don't think its gold/bronze/silver rated. 550w psu

Old Hdd with fresh windows and old cd-rom.

Sorry for the long list but I wanted to make sure you knew what was new and old. Details are good. Now for the problem. After installing windows and programs I started playing games. At first it seemed fine but then the screen stopped displaying the game and had vertical lines and funny colors (sometimes blue/green) the only way to get it to display again is to shut the computer down and restart. I thought it was a overheating problem. So I put a box fan in front of the open side panel and it seemed to help but still shut down after a while. Now one time the computer shut down completely and would not turn back on without unpluging it. Then the video would not show up. The pc powered on and lights, fans, everything seemed to work but no video. After many hours I am on the video card. Now as long as I don't play games it seems to work fine. I watched the temps while playing games and the CPU-GPU never went over 58-59c. I have had many people tell me many different things but I want to get your opinion. I will probably have to take my newly built pc into a store.

Sorry again for the long post..details details. I am probably leaving some out but I will answer as many questions as I can.

Please read the whole story if you plan to provide a solution. Thank you in advance for your help.

This is driving me crazy and testing my nerves please help.

Michael Bougie

Reputable
Jun 27, 2014