Large External Storage Solution Needed

knaunko

Honorable
Sep 30, 2012
Hey All
Hope someone here can help me. While i do know my way around a PC i am not a Tech Expert so if i sound idiotic please excuse me. Also i have lots of questions about this, so please bear with me.

I need a rather large external storage device, at least 8 drives, and at least 2TB each. I say 2TB because i am not sure if the 3TB and 4TB Drives around are safe. The device will be used to store music, movies and pictures if that makes a difference.

I would also like it to be networked to two machines but is it possible to do this with wifi? or does it have to be a physical network like RJ-45 cable?

The other thing is RAID, i do not understand it very well, obviously i will want to RAID so i have some redundancy but is it possible to have all the drives appear as one volume?

And finally the major question, is there anyway to buy such a device prebuilt where all i have to do is insert the Drives and set it up? or will i have to try and build my own?

Any Help would be greatly appreciated/

popatim

Titan
Sorry Kyle but thats just a rack. put 8 drives in it and it won't even power them up. You still need to install that into a server with appropriate raid card & cables.

Knaunko. to me it sounds like you need a large Nas. They do come in 8 bay & larger models such as these:
Synologyds1813+ http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16822108138
Qnap TS-869L http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16822107112

These work best attaached to your router via network cable. You router can be wireless and give you access from your wireless laptops/pc's/mac's...

Raid is redundancy, meaning if a drive fails the system & your files are still functional. One of the benefits is having a single volume (if you want) thou you have many disks.

As you can see you can buy these or also make your own if so inclined.