New PC FPS Underperformance and Game Crashes

Quentin Chalmers

Reputable
May 11, 2014
I have been gaming for about 7 years now and finally got around to building my own PC. Everything had been great so far, setup only took me a day and every component in my build was working flawlessly for the first couple of weeks while I moved everything over from my old PC.

The specs for my rig are as follows:

AMD FX-8320 Overclocked to 4.2 Ghz @ 1.36 Volts (Prime 95 stable)
Zalman CNPS9500A-LED Aftermarket CPU Cooler
PNY GTX 760 Factory Overclocked (Latest Nvidia Driver)
G.Skill Ares Series 8GB (2 x 4GB) DDR3-1600 @ 8-8-8-24 (Set manually in Bios)
Asus M5A99X EVO R2.0 ATX AM3+ Mobo (Latest Bios Update)
Samsung 840 EVO 120 GB SSD (boot drive)
WD Black 1 TB HDD 7200 RPM (for game storage)
NZXT Phantom 410
CORSAIR CX600M 600W PSU

Before I built this, I did a LOT of research, I spent weeks on the internet comparing benchmarks and reading forums. My goal was to build a PC that was not too expensive, but able to easily play most new games at minimum 30 fps. The total cost ended up being just under $900. I was honestly expecting around 50 FPS on most games with high settings.

In some ways im happy with my new PC, it boots very fast, and is very responsive. However it seems to be having problems with certain games. Dota 2 will play at maximum settings 60 FPS solid no problems, no crashes for over 7 hours straight. However other games I am having issues with.

I set Borderlands 2 to automatically detect settings, it set almost everything to high. While in game I can get 60 FPS fine while just running around but as soon as I enter combat my frame rate tanks. If say 4 enemies are attacking me and I am shooting back at them, the FPS stays between 20-30 until they are dead. All battles are like this, every time a lot of action happens I get a big performance drop.