Some guidance with a complete build please?

Brooklyngirl

Reputable
Jul 20, 2014
I put this in another forum, but the forum appears more active.

Hi, I’m a complete newbie when it comes to computer building. I’m relying on youtube videos, and computer based communities like this to help me. I guess I could just buy a pc, but I think building one will be a lot of fun. A little scary, but fun. I feel confident I can do it, but would love help deciding on parts.

I’m gonna be doing a lot of video editing and would love for it not to take hours. Also plan on doing some gaming. Though the main use will be for editing, streaming videos, and movie/tv watching. I was going to hold out until November for black Friday deals, but I have a birthday coming up in August so I figured I’d take advantage of that, and create a wish list for my family. After doing some research this is the parts list I put together.

CPU: Intel Core i7-4790K 4.0GHz Quad-Core Processor ($279.99 @ Micro Center)

CPU Cooler: Corsair H105 73.0 CFM Liquid CPU Cooler ($114.99 @ Amazon)

-Maybe a little overkill but I like the way it looks. Also looks a lot easier to install then the air coolers.

Motherboard: Asus MAXIMUS VII HERO ATX LGA1150 Motherboard ($199.99 @ NCIX US)

-This seems to be the Z97 motherboard with the best reviews?

Memory: Corsair Vengeance Pro 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR3-2400 Memory ($174.98 @ NCIX US)

Memory: Corsair Vengeance Pro 16GB (2 x 8GB) DDR3-2400 Memory ($174.98 @ NCIX US)

-Like I said, doing video editing, and thought I just go for 32gb

Storage: Samsung 840 EVO 250GB 2.5" Solid State Drive

Already own. Just going to take it from my current computer, and re-use it

Storage: Seagate 4TB 3.5" 7200RPM Hybrid Internal Hard Drive ($179.99 @ Amazon)

-Um, no real reason. So many hard drives to choose from.

Case: Corsair 760T White ATX Full Tower Case ($169.99 @ NCIX US)

-I just think it's a beautiful case. Also the videos I'm using to help me build are using this case.