How does this build stack up against other gaming builds?

dy26197

Honorable
Jul 20, 2014
Hello

I am completely new to this. So I am very sorry if I have posted this in the wrong place, or if I am asking some annoying noob question. I recently build my first gaming PC. So far I am really happy with it. I have played games like COD ghosts, and Battlefield 4, and have got a steady 60fps on high settings. But I don't know how this build stacks up against other gaming pc's. Would anyone give me their input on this build. I picked up most of the parts from a local computer store having a goin out of business sale. The RAM, and GPU I picked up from craigslist off of a guy that lost interest in his build (both items were brand new, and the boxes were never opened). So hopefully I didn't over pay to badly on this build. The specs and what I paid are:

AMD A8-6600K APU(65.00)
GIGABYTE GA-F2A88XM-D3H MOBO (35.00)
EVGA GTX 750 TI GPU (90.00)
CORSAIR VENGEANCE PRO DDR3 2400 (110.00)
CORSAIR CX600 600 WATT PSU (50.00)
WINDOWS 8 (85.00)

I've got about $480.00 in this build. Feel free to tell me what I did right, what I did wrong, and what I should have done different. Don't be to harsh :)

It's not too bad, but not too good either. Get a Core i3 or i5, which has 22nm architecture vs AMD 32 nm architecture. Consider a R9 280 or 290 if you mine cryptocurrency (Bitcoin, Litecoin, etc). Save $$$ and get cheaper RAM. The rest is pretty good.

The prioblem is you bought a CPU with built in graphics card and then don't use it by using a separate video card. At the least, if you are going to do that, you get a video card that can work with the one built into the CPU for a crossfire scenario. Those APU chips, the CPU part themselves isn't the best. They are a good all-in-one chip, make great home theatre systems, but not the best for any decent gaming.

dy26197

Honorable
Jul 20, 2014