Why Not an AMD ??..Is going economical a compromise ?

tortvoice v

Reputable
Jul 16, 2014
Hello Folks ! I am new to pc building and the hardware. I am not looking just for easy answers but very much willing to do further research once i get some directions..So Please help me out here..

I want to build my first pc for video editing so i started my research about the cpu first. Got to know that Intel dual xeon and hexa core extreme series are the top notch choices among the industry professionals below that stand i7 hexa cores K series and then comes i7 quad core cpus. Mostly people recommend at least an Intel i7 quad core cpu for a video editing system.

Its not like i am trying to defy their wisdom but genuinely curious about 'Why Not an Amd ?' Fx-8350 has 8 cores, 4.00 GHz oced up to 4.20 GHz, 4*2 MB L2 and 8 MB L3 cache. i guess higher TDPs and no iGPU can not be significant enough reasons.. I have seen the benchmark comparisons across the web but can anyone explain what makes Intel's HyperThreading technology beat the Amd cpus in popularity?

I have been doing some editing with the windows movie maker on my hp laptop (i3-3110M 2.40 GHz). That's my only practical experience with the video editing and i love it and decided for an upgrade but don't want to go all the way to xeons and hexa cores.

I am going to buy recently launched Panasonic Lumix DMC FZ1000 which records videos up to @ 100 Mbps and has 1" image sensor. I would like to dabble my hands in creative things like chroma, 2D/3D animation, live action & animation compositing with various VFXs. So i will be working with a few layers of videos and VFXs within a single frame. My source footage will be 1080p mp4 or avchd @ 28 Mbps.http://www.dpreview.com/products/panasonic/compacts/panasonic_dmcfz1000/specifications

So looking forward to build an economical video editing system capable of handling all the above mentioned creative pursuits.