First Build - $800-1000

Rayven2

Reputable
Jul 31, 2014
Hello everyone, this is my first post on Tom's Hardware but the forums have always helped me in the past. Seems like a great community so decided to finally make a account.

I want to build my first PC mainly leaning towards gaming and general use.

Approximate Purchase Date: 2-4 Weeks (Due to money)

Budget Range: $800 to $1000.

System Usage from Most to Least Important: Gaming/Movies, Internet, Light Video Editing.

Parts Not Required: Just building the tower, I will need to upgrade from my 19 inch monitor soon.

Preferred Website(s) for Parts: I've mainly researched parts at MSY which is a Australian based company (www.msy.com.au) since I feel somewhat more reassured when I can physically walk into the store if the parts are faulty or the packaging was damaged.

Parts Preferences: I'd like to go with Intel, i5/1150 (I'll list the rest underneath)

Overclocking: I have no experience with overclocking and wouldn't like to blow my computer up due to lack of knowledge.

SLI or Crossfire: Maybe

Monitor Resolution: 1920x1080

Additional Comments: I wouldn't mind if the computer wasn't as loud, so I can downloading at night. I wouldn't want to go too far out of my way for it but the lower db for fans etc would be a quick fix.

My current preference, expand to it as you wish.

CPU: Right now I'm thinking a i5-4690 3.5 ghz cpu due to it being slightly better than the 4670 with it's only downfall not allowing overclocking.

Motherboard: I still haven't decided on one and would love some opinions, I don't mind spending a little more if it allows future upgrades. Only ATX or mATX

Case: Something along these lines, I might change the fans to blue however.
http://www.msy.com.au/viconline/new-products/13433--corsair-ccspec-01-carbide-spec-01-black-usb30-mid-tower-case-without-psu.html

Ram: Perhaps 8 GB DDR3 1600+

PSU: I'm thinking 550W+ if not more to be on the safe side