New Build. i5-4670k Or i7-4790k? Please help.

dankbecker

Distinguished
Nov 24, 2011
I've started a new build and would love some input. I work as a mechanical engineer, so the computer will run Solid Works and ProE. I will also be running video editing software and photoshop. HOWEVER, this system will also be used for gaming (Skyrim, WOW...etc). I don't see myself over clocking the computer. Budget isn't really a concern, however, Im not looking to spend more than I need to. My questions are:

-Would the i5 be enough? Or do I need to go i7?

- Do I need all the eccentric upgrades offered on motherboards, if I don't OC? Ex: Do I really need the Asus z97 pro vs the z97 basic?

- Can I get some suggestions on a GPU? Planning on running 2 monitors.

I'm open to ALL advice and suggestions. I'd like to game (with awesome fn' graphics), run Solid Works, and video/picture edit without any hiccups, lag...etc.

Alex Kelly

Honorable
You won't need a K series processor if you don't want to overclock. I recommend getting the i5 4690, and pairing it with an ASUS GTX 780 DirectCU II, if you are okay with spending that much money on the card.

I suggest getting a H97 motherboard such as the MSI H97 Gaming 3 for your 4690 as you don't need a Z series since you will not be overclocking. This system will be able to max out any game you throw at it at well over 60fps and will give you excellent performance in video and picture editing software, as well as Solid Works. :)

If you don't want to spend that much on the GPU, an EVGA GTX 770 will also do great, and still be able to max out most games at above 60fps, although it won't be as future proof as the 780, and won't be quite as fast in photo and video editing applications. :)

jnewegger23

Distinguished