My First Build - Asking For Advice On Certain Components

Breq-Zerith

Honorable
Aug 1, 2014
Hi everyone!

My name is Steph and I've come to this great forum in the hope of getting some advice. Apologies in advance for the wall of text.

I've been working with laptops and iMacs for the last five years. Before that, I did my work on a custom build PC that my cousin put together for me. In short, all of the information I currently possess about computer components literally comes from scrounging around on the internet the past few days. I've formulated a setup, but I'm still on the fence about certain parts. (And if you're going, "Why would you do that?!", about any of the parts I had already more or less decided on, please, don't hesitate to say so.)

The budget:
€ 1500 (give or take)

The purpose:
Gaming, sculpting, modeling, digital painting, texturing, rendering, coding, web design, etc. In terms of software: almost everything from the Adobe Suite (except for Premiere), ZBrush, 3DS Max (and possibly other Autodesk programs), Cinema4D (maybe), Visual Studio, Unity and UDK (this one always gave me the most trouble on my laptop). I'm not the kind of guy who wants to play Battlefield 4 on 1080p at 60 fps, but I would like to mess around with a few hundreds of thousands of polygons in Max - and upwards of a few million pixols in Zbrush.

The content:
I need the case and everything in it. The keyboard, mouse, screen, HDMI cable and speakers have already been accounted for. (Also, I still have some thermal compound left from repairing my YLOD PS3 a few weeks ago.)

-> Stuff I've more or less decided on. (€ 845 allocated)

CPU
i7 4790K - € 305