XBOX One OS on PC???

xiamandrewx

Honorable
Oct 7, 2013
Okay, so when you read the title you were thinking yeah.. this guy's pretty stupid. And I know it may be really stupid, but after reading this article:

http://www.bloomberg.com/news/2013-11-22/xbox-one-has-not-one-but-three-operating-systems.html

IN THEORY, if the XBOne runs a stripped Win8 OS then a PC should be able to run XBOne OS. This is merely for speculation. I haven't seen many posts around google discussing this.

What does the community think? Is it possible? Would emulation be easier? Could we set up some kinda VirtualBox for the XBOne OS? Let's ponder a while..

Titillating

Expert
Ambassador
From what the article is saying, it seems like the XBOne runs three separate OSes. The Win8 side of it seems to just be for misc things like Skype. While it could be possible in theory (and I'm no expert, so I could be totally off), I personally don't think it's worth the effort to set up. Microsoft probably wouldn't offer support for users trying to run it on a PC since it would take away from XBOne sales.

I have not kept up with the emulation scene, but I recall there were many issues emulating even last gen systems (DS and Wii come to mind) in terms of optimization and compatibility, which I imagine is equally difficult, if not more so, with current gen systems.

Both scenarios are interesting to imagine though, and I'd love to see it if somebody manages to pull it off.

xiamandrewx

Honorable
Oct 7, 2013

No doubt Microsoft would not be for this at all. If there were a way to do it, then it would probably violate all kinds of EULA and warranties and such. It's still something to ponder. I'm not good with computers on the programming end, so I really have no clue, but it seems possible to run the next gen OS since it's already built on x86 architecture. Time will tell :p

xbox os has a stripped down version of win8os as well as its own gaming os.