Build a new PC, worked for half an hour, shutdown, will not start again ?

welo78

Reputable
Aug 26, 2014
Hello guys,

I just finished building my computer and I came to a giant problem. Here is the situation: The computer actually ran and I installed Win 7 x64 and all the drivers and I started playing.

After maybe a half an hour of extensive play it shut down. I pressed the power button but nothing happened, I pressed it again ... same. I unplugged the power to it and plugged it in and the LEDs came on for maybe a quarter of a second with the fans but it immediately stopped again. So I pressed the power button once more but this time nothing happened. So from this conclusion you may see everytime I unplug it and plug it back in it starts for quarter of a second and shuts down immediately, after that it wont even do that.

Things I tried: waited for it to cool down because PSU was hot by touch, unplugging the graphics card because I figured it may eat a lot of power at start and the PSU just wont do it which is 550 W but it was working ok at first start.

So can anyone help me with this problem ? Maybe its some power circuit shortage problem or some sensor just broke in the PSU for heat ?

I should also mention that there are a lot of fans in the case since it is a gaming case BUT the PSU is mounted at the very bottom with fan directing to bottom. The case has holes for a fan ventilation right in front of the fan of the PSU ... BUT its only like 5 CMs from ground (the case it self has like 3 CMs rubber stands)

maarkr

Distinguished
Dec 7, 2012
may need to pull the proc fan and check/redo paste. if you do builds, you should get one of those 5$ PSU/SATA.HD power testers.

Mkarmelk

Reputable
Sep 13, 2015
maybe you could try to reput the cables of the PSU. check if the CPU_PWR fanslot is in use. maybe your MOBO is secured that when it can't detect a cpu fan it wont start. see if the GPU is pit in correct and also check if its 4pins or 8 pins.