New Gaming PC Build HELP PLEASE

TruBeast

Reputable
Sep 1, 2014
Hi guys,

This is my first time posing on this forum - so sorry in advance if I break any of the forum rules.

I have decided that I would like to build my first ever gaming rig (yay!), but although I know the basics (like what component I need, what they do and where they go), I found the range and technical specs of what you could buy quite overwhelming - and would really appreciate some help and advice on the components I have chosen before I purchase them.

I will list the components I have chosen (with some info about why I have chosen them) and then give you some background info on what I am trying to achieve.... So here it goes:

Case: Aerocool GT-S White Edition (basically, from a cosmetic point of view, I really want the final product to be dominated by blue - blue glows, blue components - the blue will tie everything together... plus I think this case looks pretty badass)

MoBo: Asrock Z97 Extreme9 (correct socket for my cpu, somewhere down the track I would like to add more graphic cards for SLI, said that the board supports 4k graphics (will be connected to my 4k tv) and ofcourse, the blue)

CPU: Intel Core i7-4790K Devil's Canyon (I am building this system with the plan to upgrade components as the need arises rather than building a whole new rig... the one thing I would rather throw a little extra cash at in the beginning is the CPU so that it will withstand the test of time and still be able to handle any changes I make to the rest of the rig)

Ram: G.Skill Ripjaws 4 16GB (4x4GB) DDR4 2400MHz 1.2V (I have no idea what the difference between the MHz are, but from the research I have done, it seems that 1600Mhz should be the minimum for gaming?? So honestly, I picked this mostly based on looks (hehe blue), but making sure it was DDR3, above 1600MHz and something I could experiment OC'ing with in the future)