Massive unput lag at 3440x1440 - Display input preference ?

spacejunk

Distinguished
Aug 2, 2012
Hi guys,

I've been using a Sony TV for my monitor for the last 10 years. Always being restricted to 1360x768 - I was never aware of the implications of high res gaming and displays.

I have finally upgraded my monitor to the LG34um95, which has presented several problems.

Games that typically run at 140+ fps now run at 30fps, which is understandable, but the problem is that if I use the screens native res I get horrible input lag.

In-game chat takes up to a second to appear - movable objects feel like they are attached to a rubber band.

I asked my friend, who also uses large displays and he said I should not be using DP for input. He recommended I use DVI input, or HDMI. As I don't have a DVI cable to test this I used HDMI which did nothing to fix the input lag.

So I have a few questions:

Which is the best input to use for gaming ?

Will upgrading my GPU have any effect on input lag ?

(if so, would 2x GTX 780 be enough to drive this display at max res ?

Lastly, what might be the reason I can't get a signal from my PS4 using this monitor ? - I get sound through HDMI 2 input but no picture.

Help appreciated.

spacejunk

Distinguished
Aug 2, 2012
Hey guys, thank you for responding.

This is my system specs:

Gigabyte G1-Sniper 3 1155 socket
i7-3770K
ASUS GeForce GTX 670 DirectCU II
G.Skill Ripjaws Z F3-2400C10D-8GZH 8GB (2x4GB) DDR3
Corsair AX1200 Gold Power Supply
Western Digital WD Black 2TB WD2002FAEX x2
LG 34UM95-P 34in UltraWide QHD IPS Monitor

I set the monitor to game in the control menu, but the screen has a severe blue tint to it, so I didn't end up keeping that settings.

I have calibrated most settings to be optimal for fast moving pictures.

The 670 obviously can't drive this display, but I want to know if it is also causing the input lag as well.

spacejunk

Distinguished
Aug 2, 2012
Hey,

I just did a test with Devinity OS at max res.