R9 290x Direct Cu ii high temperature?

desertblue

Reputable
Sep 12, 2014
Hi all,

Recently built a new computer with the following specs and am a complete noob :wahoo:. But while gaming in Metro Last Light with V-sync off, i noticed that my R9 290x asus direct cu ii graphics card reaches 90C and 100% load on max settings and 1080p.

It's on performance mode.....Is this damaging/ normal for the card? The airflow in my case seems adequate. There's a case fan in the front, back, and top. Back and top and blowing air out while front is blowing air in, and review sites usually show it at 77 max load...

Specs:

Case: Fractal define R4 artic white

CPU cooler: Hyper 212 Evo

Processor: Intel I5-4690k @ 3.5 GHz

Gpu: ASUS Radeon R9 290X DirectCU II

Memory: 8 GB

Many Thanks

vampyiere6

Honorable
Mar 7, 2013
well the stock r9-290 hits about 95 degrees that is normal for the card it gets really hot but it is suposed to do but since you have asus it should be cooler in my opinion. you have it overclocked or so? and how is the airflow in your case? i would not worry if its at 90 degrees max but if it goes over that i should check for better cooling options.

desertblue

Reputable
Sep 12, 2014

Hey Vampiyiere,

It's not overclocked, but the airflow is what im concerned about. Everything's at stock settings and I downloaded the latest GPU drivers.
I've tried to upload an image of the inside of the case here:
TBl5FKF.jpg

Essentially, there's a case fan in the front (right side of picture) and a case fan to the back (left side of picture) as well as a case fan at the top (right above the CPU cooler).

The cables, for the most part, are out of the way of the fans. It runs around 45C idle from MSI afterburner.

Thanks for the speedy response!

vampyiere6

Honorable
Mar 7, 2013