Help me with my first time gaming build

lpolaright

Reputable
Sep 15, 2014
Hi Everyone,

I'm new to this whole building your own computer thing, and I just love playing the newest games on the highest settings. Seeing that my current system became old (a strong laptop my father bought me back in the day) I decided to build my own system.

I generally found all my parts, seeing guides around the internet including this website and many others I concluded in the following parts for a good computer that will last for a few years:

(Please note that I live in Israel, so everything here is 1.5xUS price)
The prices here are really not relevant, but I added them anyways just for curiosity's sake.

• GPU: Sapphire Toxic R9 280x - (410$)
    CPU: Intel i5 4690 - (281$)
    MotherBoard: Gigabyte GA-Z97-D3H - (159$)
    RAM: G.Skill F3-10666CL9S-8GBXL - (96$)
    PSU: Corsair CX750 - (144$)
    SSD: SanDisk 128GB - (82$)
    HDD: Western Digital 1000GB WD10EZEX - (71$)
    Case: NZXT Phantom 410 - (73$)
Overall: 1316$ (in Israel)
The equivalent of 800~900$ build in the US.

Please note that I will probably not overclock, since I do not yet understand what overclocking really is (maybe in the next few years I will learn).

I have the following concerns, I would be happy if you guys could address them in your comments:

• It was really hard to choose between the 280x and the GTX 770, however in my country the difference was 75$, do you think the GTX is worth it?

I have no clue if the motherboard is good, I tried to read up on the reviews, but if you fellas know any good parallel priced motherboards, let me know please!

Is the 750W Corsair PSU an overkill for this system?

I'm a bit worried about the reviews about the Sapphire's 280x, they say it crashes a lot, however professional analysis of some websites I checked showed that it's better. (So I'm quite confused if perhaps I should go for Asus, or maybe MSI)