What To Look For When Buying A New Vehicle

Urzu1000

Distinguished
Dec 24, 2013
I'm looking to purchase a new vehicle, and I'm interested in the most technical advice I can get.

I'm a little new to the mobile market, as I've always been more interested in computers then cars.
Due to my interest in computers and hardware, I've come to enjoy knowing the little details about the inner workings of the machines that I use. I don't want my vehicle to be any different.

I'm not going to go into any details about the criteria I'm looking for, because I want your unrestricted advice and commentary so that I can learn as much as I can.

What kind of vehicle would would recommend, or what kind of things should I be looking for in a vehicle? Any other advice you can give?

Thanks in advance!

Your question is far too broad. Can you tell me what kind of computer I should buy only knowing that I know a lot about cars?

Approach it like you would a computer. Define your basic requirements. They will be somewhat different if you want to use your vehicle to go two miles to a grocery store or make a quick trip to Alpha Centauri. If the two miles to the grocery store is across a river or lake you might want to look at a boat rather than a car. The trip to Alpha Centauri would depend or your definition of "quick".

Research the options that fit your requirements. Modify basic requirements as needed and then add options that you desire and shop, shop, shop.

Are you required to have insurance where you live? Insurance is more expensive for expensive vehicles.

What's your operating budget? Can you afford a $900 for a change of spark plugs?

And then of course there's the color. Does it go well with your makeup?

wip99gt

Distinguished
Feb 23, 2008