I can't extend my drive on Disk Management

ItachiUchiha

Reputable
Apr 21, 2014
So I have 1 hard drive (Size: 1 TB), and I divided my hard drive into 3 partitions :
C: have 285gb (approximate)
D: have 351gb (approximate)
E: have 283gb (approximate)

So in my drive C, there's my Windows OS, on my D, is my Games, and lastly E, for the installed programs.

I decided to extend the E, because it I moved my documents, music, pictures, etc. from C to E, so 283gb is not enough for all of that. And I also want my C to be a drive of OS only, so a 285gb of only OS is too much, I want to shrink C to 50-100gb, and add the Unallocated part to E.

So now I shrink my C, and now I see the Unallocated part, but my problem is when I right-click the the DRIVE E:, I can't extend the volume, it's gray, and not clickable.

So, can somebody here can help me?

ItachiUchiha

Reputable
Apr 21, 2014

Uhhm, sorry sir, I don't get you.
I'm new with this stuff, so can you explain a better way like you're talking to a dummy?

Paperdoc

Polypheme
Ambassador
What you want to do is difficult unless you use a sophisticated disk reorganization utility. It is also VERY risky for your data because if ANYTHING goes wrong in the middle of the work, you could lose it all. Hence, the smart thing to do FIRST is back up ALL your data. That means EVERYTHING on ALL three Partitions.

Before outlining the steps to be done, let's do background. You have three Partitions on one HDD. They total 919 GB. Now, a "1 TB HDD" will hold about 1,000 x 10^9 bytes, but Windows re-defines "GB" to be 1024 x 1024 x 1024 bytes, or 1,073,741,824 bytes. So it will tell you that the capacity of your 1TB unit is 931 GB. Thus, it would appear that your HDD really is completely full with those three Partitions.