4 monitor pyramid setup with ability to expand to 6 monitors (3x2)

BoringTaxCPA

Reputable
Oct 9, 2014
Total novice here that just sorta stumbled onto this DIY build ur own machine stuff, so I thought why not give it a try!

Goal is a fast responsive business machine where I keep a ton of programs and web pages and spreadsheets and emails open and accessible across my field of monitors! Gaming is not a priority at all. This is about uber productivity and keeping my desk clear of paper!

I already own 6 dell 22" monitors sw2209 monitors with DVI input

Here is what I am thinking for a build, any critiques and suggestions are appreciated! Most of this was picked cause it looked cool or the advertising sucked me in so please help!

ASUS Sabertooth Mark2 Z97
CPU Intel i5-4690k
Ram 16GB 2x8 1866 Viper cause the red looks cool
Asus R9 270 GPU x 2 (can some explain the SLI crossfire stuff to me?)
Samsung Pro 840 256GB x 2 in raid1 for program reliability and speed
Corsair AX 860 Power supply
Nanoxia Deep Silent 1 for quiet operation.
Windows 8.1 64bit Pro

Do I need more cooling stuff for this setup like radiators and fans?

Wont bore u with the other crap like CD/RW or 7200 HD type stuff!

So am I in over my head or will this work out ok with a little static wristband and tube of thermal paste?

Solution

exroofer

Distinguished
There are some very good tutorial videos you can look up on youtube and other sources about building a pc. It really is not very hard if you are methodical and Read The Manual. In this case the motherboard manual so you know what to plug in where.

I will let some of our more knowledgeable forum members critique your build for what you want to do and fine tune it. There are some peculiarities you need to be aware of for running that many monitors. But it can be done. Basic system specs look good for what you want to do, probably more power supply than you need, in watts.

diabedo

Honorable
Feb 6, 2013