Buyer Beware: Newegg

chaotixblade

Distinguished
Feb 2, 2012
Greetings,

I am a long time builder of computers and have been primarily been making my purchases through Amazon.com because of their amazing return policy.

Years ago, when I was initially entering the computer building game, I heard the praises that were given to Newegg.com.

I was initially going to do business with them until I glanced at their RMA and Return policy.

To my horror, this is what their draconian return policy states.
-The buyer must pay for the shipping to ship back the product NEWEGG sent BROKEN to them.
-The buyer must accept a 15% restocking fee for BROKEN ITEMS. Why is newegg punishing their customers when they fudge up, why is newegg RESTOCKING BROKEN ITEMS?

Additionally, refunds (in my case as a result of an UNOPENED REFUSED PACKAGE) take 2-5 days to process after received, and an additional 3-5 days to have a refund issued to my account.

These facts were confirmed by not 1 but 2 newegg representatives that I spoke with through their support phone line and their support on the chat.

They also gave me contradictory information. One man told me that my 2.99 shipping I paid will be refunded, while another woman told me it would not.

---

Amazon.
-A-Z return policy. They refund my purchase the INSTANT I ask for an RMA, or as soon as UPS registers that the package has been refused.

Additionally, amazon sends me a return slip through email. I don't have to wait 3 days for one to be shipped. And I don't have to pay for it to be shipped back.

---

I refused my package after reading review after review of newegg refusing refunds because of apparent "user abuse."

---

Newegg, this is unacceptable. My package arrived in your warehouse today and I refuse to wait a maximum 10 days for a refund.

Is the year 2014 or not? What is with this junk...

Newegg, I didn't buy from you for a reason. I went against my better judgement and did and now I'm reaping the benefits.