Can PC games be downloaded from one PC to another?

TruenoICE

Reputable
Oct 6, 2014
Hello, everyone. I'm new to PC gaming and will be getting my PC up and running sometime in the week or next week. My family has another PC that we have been using and I have download some games on there. I just want to ask if it's possible to download the game from the same disk onto a different computer as well? For example, I have hard disk copy of Amnesia and Rise of Nations and I have downloaded and played them on that PC. Would I be able to download and play them on the PC I'm getting, or would I need to get another disk copy and download them from there?

Vynavill

Honorable
Are we talking about legally bought games? You know...forum rules; gotta make sure of that...

[Off-topic] It's like the 10th time I try to answer this, as I keep getting 404 errors >_> Sorry if any multi-post pops up, I'll try editing it ASAP should that happen.

TruenoICE

Reputable
Oct 6, 2014
Yes, as in I bought a hard copy of the games from a store(Office Depot to be exact) and I just suddenly had the 404 error issue as well, and thanks for answering, was starting to think no one would. And I'm thinking of using Steam, just don't know exactly how as I'm new to all this.

Vynavill

Honorable
Ok then.

Basicly, you can think of Steam as a personal game library. Any game, software or content registered on your account, be it a digital or a physical retail purchase, is available on any PC you use, as long as you have the Steam client installed and you're logged in on your account.
This comes with the downside that anything registered on your account is bound to that specific account, thus it becomes yours forever and can be neither sold, lent or given in as a second hand for discounts.