First Build - Looking for Feedback on Part Selection

johnson5067

Honorable
Oct 29, 2014
Hello everyone, this is my first build! I've been doing a lot of research over the last week or so, trying to figure out what I'm doing. I've got a preliminary list of parts that I would like some feedback on. Here's what I'm thinking:

CPU: i7-4790k
CPU Cooling: Corsair H105
Mobo: ASUS Maximus VII Gene mATX
RAM: G.Skill Trident X Series 32GB DDR3-2133
Video: ASUS GeForce GTX 770 2GB
SSD: Samsung 850 Pro 256GB (for OS)
HHD: (two) WD Black 3TB
Power: Corsair 760W 80+ Platinum
Case: Corsair Air 240

The primary purpose for this computer will be for my wife's photography business. Lots of batch photo editing using Adobe Lightroom and transferring tons of GB of RAW and JPG files to hard drives. Also some moderate use of Adobe Photoshop, Illustrator, and inDesign. My understanding is that these programs are RAM hungry, hence the 32 GB. I'll also be using it for playing Minecraft, which I hear relies mostly on the CPU.

From my research I'm pretty set on the i7-4790k. I don't want a full-tower, which is I went for the Gene over the Hero and Formula so I could use the Air 240. (I'm open to other case suggestions though.) I also want to CAREFULLY play around with some moderate overclocking, just to push the components a little bit to get some extra performance. (Plus I'm an engineer, so tinkering around with the clock rates and voltages to get a stable OC sounds pretty fun and rewarding!)

One thing specifically I would like some advice on is the RAM selection. At first I chose DDR3-2400 thinking I of course wanted fast RAM. Then I learned about timings and how the higher CAS latency of faster RAM can negate its speed. I've read that the 2133/9 is a bit of a sweet spot for the 4790k. I also am confused about how getting 1.6 or 1.65 V RAM can hurt a CPU if the vcore and vdimm are separate variables.