23 years old. Average HS student, and I want to attend a Computer Science program. What are my chances?

bbugyi200

Honorable
Dec 16, 2013
Hello All,

As the title summarizes, I am 23 years old, and did very average in high school. I never took my SATs because I did not think that I was going to go to college. Now I have regrets, and realize that I made a huge mistake.

I have been working in IT for 3 years in a Help-Desk role, and would like to start up a Computer Science program soon. I've got a few questions (and am sure to have many more soon).

What should my next move be? Should I take my SATs?

I've heard going to a community college for the first two years, and then transferring out is a great way to go. If I excel in community college for 2 years and get my Associates, would that increase my chances of getting into a half-way decent college for an undergrad program?

I appreciate the help everyone! :)

Entomber

Admirable
Depending on how well you do in CC you could transfer to a top-tier 4-year institution as well. In fact, it's actually a pretty smart move because you'll save a ton of tuition money through that route, since you'll only be at the 4-year for 2 years (thus saving 50% on tuition).

Also depending on the CC you go to, some of them have so-called guaranteed transfer programs that stipulate as long as you take a certain suite of classes and fulfill certain requirements, you will be guaranteed admission into a 4-year institution.

yosimba2000

Distinguished
Jan 3, 2011