Need help in upgrading an old custom gaming rig, with a budget of 700 bucks

Hello, I'm a noob when it comes to computers , and am very unexperienced when it comes to building my own. I'm looking to upgrade my rig, with the main priority being gaming. I want it to be powerful able to pull future games like witcher 3 , battlefield hardline etc at 60 fps (as my monitor is 60hz). My current rig has: windows 8.1 pro 64 bit, intel i7 960@3.20ghz, 6.0 gigs of ram, and an nvidia 570gtx gpu, and my motherboard is some OEM (I don't know how to check specific without taking it apart, if you could tell my that'd be great), some 1.5TB ssd black series. I won't be dishing out the cash in one go, so what would you recommend to upgrade FIRST, what I mean is what is the most essential upgrade that will give the greatest initial boost in performance. I was thinking of upgrading my GPU but then I am worried that my older components will only weigh it down. If you can also tell me which upgrades I would need following that'd also be great. My budget is around 700 bucks. And as you probably already assumed I don't need peripherals like mouse and keyboard, and operating systems as I already have them thank you very much for your suggestions.
10 answers Last reply
More about upgrading custom gaming rig budget 700 bucks