HTPC/Media Server build (first-timer) looking for advice

turtlechief

Reputable
Dec 18, 2014
Hello All,

I am new to Tom's and a little rusty on my hardware, so I was looking to get some help before building a Home Theater / Media Server PC running Linux (probably Ubuntu).

Details

• ■ I have no plans to use the PC for gaming (I have PlayStation for that).
    ■ I have no plans to overclock.
    ■ I will very likely run a few VM servers (LAMP webserver, mail server, ftp server, etc.) on top of the host linux OS, somewhat similar to the setup described in this tutorial: http://linuxhomeserverguide.com/initial/Plan.php
    ■ I already have a case (ATX or mATX form factor) and PSU.
    ■ I need to get a MOBO/CPU/RAM combination on a budget of around $200 (USD) or less. My absolute maximum budget woud be $250.

Since my budget is so small and I am not gaming or overclocking I figured a FM2/FM2+ APU would suit my needs, that way I would not have to spend money on a video card.

Here are my top choices so far, which are based off of this build: http://mymediaexperience.com/htpc-builds/budget-htpc/

Motherboard: GIGABYTE GA-F2A88XN-WIFI FM2+/FM2 A88X (Bolton D4) Wi-Fi/BT4.0 SATA 6Gb/s USB 3.0 HDMI Mini ITX AMD Motherboard
CPU: AMD A6-6400K Richland 3.9GHz Socket FM2 65W Dual-Core Desktop Processor
RAM: Kingston HyperX FURY 4GB 1600MHz DDR3 CL10 DIMM

My thinking is that this setup would get me a decent amount of features (wifi, bluetooth, etc) at a low price.

I have some questions however.

1) It appears that the motherboard only has an expansion slot for a video card? Are there expansion slots that I am missing? Will this motherboard limit my ability to add new features (for example if I wanted an eSata port, would it even be possible to add one?)

2) Are there better or comparable MoBo/Cpu combinations that would use a mATX motherboard and expansion cards (for video, wifi, etc...)? If so, what are they?