Opinions/Suggestions on first build

Leo Maximus

Reputable
Jan 9, 2015
I'll try to keep this short. I'm a noob at building PCs. I've started compiling a list after weeks of studying, but I'm still learning. I keep finding answers here so I figured I'd post my hypothetical build. This is primarily going to be for gaming in 1080p with very high refresh rates. I may do some video recording & editing as well.

CPU: Intel Core i7-4790K
CPU Cooler: Corsair H100i
MOBO: Asus MAXIMUS VII HERO
RAM: Corsair Vengeance Pro (2 x 8GB) DDR3-1600
SSD #1: Samsung 840 EVO 250GB
SSD #2: Samsung 840 Pro 256GB
HDD: Western Digital BLACK SERIES 2TB 7200RPM
GPU: (2) MSI GeForce GTX 970 4GB Twin Frozr V (Run in SLI)
Case: Cooler Master HAF 932 Advanced ATX Full Tower
PSU: Corsair 1200W ATX12V / EPS12V
Optical Drive: (2) Asus BC-12B1ST
Monitor: (2) BenQ XL2420Z 24.0"
Sound Card: Creative Labs ZXR

Misc.
Case fans: (2) Corsair Air Series SP120 Quiet Edition 120mm
NZXT Sentry Mix 2 Fan Controller
NZXT HUE RGB Led Controller
EVGA Pro SLI Bridge
(2) Gold Plated 6' DisplayPort Cables

There are other various peripherals, but none that should impact the build's performance.

logainofhades

Titan
What is your budget for the non Misc. stuff? I honest think you are overspending on stuff here. So much so, that I think you could afford dual 1440p monitors with some tweaks. 1200w PSU is overkill. Do not need more than an Evga 850w G2. Great GPU selection. I have the same case, no real complaints. Not sure why the two different SSD's, but you can get a good deal on Crucial M550 256gb, currently. WD blacks are not worth the added cost, really. Any particular reason for dual optical drives? Motherboard is more expensive than necessary, and not sure you need the sound card either. Motherboard should come with the SLI bridge.

Leo Maximus

Reputable
Jan 9, 2015