Salary for Software Tester

crafty1

Distinguished
Aug 5, 2014
I'm looking for some advice regarding my career. I currently work as a software tester in PA and I'm really not sure if my salary is on par. I'm working a 6 month contract providing services to an electronics company in the area. Before taking the job I did a lot of research but a lot seems to depend on the area you live in and obviously experience. I'm currently finishing my Associates degree in the evening while working 8-5 during the day. I do not regularly interact with the contract agency just where I actually provide services. They provide my work day to day.

I make $32,000 a year right now. I am hourly however. Many employees at this company work through the same contract agency as I do it seems to be like a 70 | 30 ratio from people I have run into ranging from Electrical Engineers, Mechanical Engineers to other Software QA personnel. The technical college where I am finishing up in a term or so is an IT program but I have a background in CSC; I was going to University for a while but decided I did not want to enter programming as a career and it is still true.

I do love my job but the stability is confusing to me and I am not sure if my pay is appropriate. This is my first "real" job but I wonder if in a year or two ( supposing my contract gets renewed ) it would be beneficial to change companies. The technical college graduates I attend school with tend to end up in IT Helpdesk positions and the school estimates many of them will make $28-$32k a year out of school.

My questions are first does $32k sound low to anyone for software testing or is that appropriate given my level of education? I did research around before taking the position obviously plus jobs are hard to come by.